Silver Lake Governing Board Inauguration

Posted on: 2006-12-07

SILVER LAKE- The Silver Lake Neighborhood Council inaugurated a new Governing Board for the 2007 term on Wednesday, December 6, 2006 at the Micheltorena School Auditorium.  Michele Sigueiros with the Los Angeles Department of Neighborhood Empowerment (DONE) swore in the newly-elected representatives. The newly seated council, composed of two representatives from each of Silver Lake’s seven districts and seven At-Large members. nominated and elected their executive officers. Selected as Co-Chairs for 2007 were veterans Douglas Dickstein and Cherie Miller. Douglas has represented Region 7 on the council for the past year and as Chair of the Outreach Committee. Cherie has been serving as an At-Large representative and chairs the Public Safety Committee. The board unanimously elected Glen Dake and Laura Dwan to fill the Executive Secretary and Executive Treasurer positions, respectively. Glen is the current Executive Secretary and Laura had previously served as Executive Treasurer.

Taking seats on the council for the first time were Joshua St. Thomas, Region One, who replaced retiring member Judy BorsteinRebecca Franco, Region Two, who replaced retiring member and Co-Chair Jacqueline RiveraKristopher Wallin, Region Three; Gale Jaffe, Region Four; Michael Ray Menjivar, Region Five, who replaced retiring member Genelle LeVinPatricia McGrath, Regon Six, who replaced member Bea Gold who ran for and won an At-Large seat on the council. Loren A. Colin, who was not present at the new board’s installation was elected as the board’s new Region Seven representative, replacing Gena Nason, the board’s Executive Treasurer, who did not seek re-election.

For more pictures, please visit ‘Neighborhood Pictures: 2006 Neighborhood Council Elections’ picture page on this website.